Search F1GPNews for Topics

Monday, 28 May 2012

Mark Webber | 6th Winner in 2012

It is hard to imagine a bigger contrast to the predictable 2011.

Mark Webber's win made it the sixth different winner in as many races bringing his Red Bull home from an inherited pole to victory.

Pole sitter Michael Schumacher, who expressed his view that he would still win despite being demoted five places for colliding in Spain with the back of Senna, was squeezed by Romain Grosjean on lap one and Grosjean retired damaged.  On this occasion Schumacher appeared relatively blameless as the cockpit camera showed a clear track ahead before Grosjean moved across the track.  Schumacher retired on lap 63.

This year seems to require consistency on the podium and, in coming third behind Nico Rosberg, Fernando Alonso now leads the drivers table.  Hamilton came in fifth behind Vettel to pick up some more useful points.

Sunday, 27 May 2012

Schumacher Loses Pole on Penalties

Michael Schumacher took a sensational pole position for the Monaco Grand Prix.

One week after  Bayern Munich qualified for the European Champions League final only to be beaten by Chelsea on penalties, Michael Schumacher had his pole position snatched away from him.  A five place penalty was awarded against him two weeks ago for colliding with the back of Brazilian Bruno Senna in Spain.

So Mark Webber takes pole by default, being the second quickest time (8/100s slower than Schumacher), followed by Rosberg, Hamilton, Grosjean and Alonso.  Schumacher will start sixth.

Massa, Raikkonen, Vetttel and Hulkenberg complete the top ten.

Tuesday, 15 May 2012

Williams | Maldonado | 5th Different Winner for 2012

Pastor Maldonado delighted the Williams garage with an impeccable victory in Barcelona.

He overhauled Fernando Alonso to take his fist win and the first for Williams since Juan Pablo Montoya took victory in Brazil 2004.

Kimi Raikkonen closed out the podium in third ahead of his Lotus team mate Romain Grosjean in fourth and Kamui Kobayashi in fifth.

Vettel and Rosberg were sixth and seventh, Hamilton and Button eighth and ninth, followed by Hulkenberg and Webber.

Lewis Hamilton gained most places moving up to eighth after he was demoted from pole to last on the grid for having insufficient fuel after qualifying.

The celebrations were severely blighted by a fire in the Williams garage.  One employee has been detained in hospital.  The team were overwhelmed by the support given by other teams to deal with the fire and offers of practical assistance.

Frank Williams attributed the win to the new team personnel structure for 2012, and felt his aero team in particular have excelled.  He described engine suppliers Renault as being charming and truly helpful.

Vettela and Alonso now tie the 2012 standings with 61 points followed by Hamilton on 53, Raikkonen on 49, Webber on 48 and Button on 45.  Pastor Maldonado has jumped to ninth behind Nico Rosberg in seventh and Romain Grosjean in eighth.

Five different drivers have now won in 2012 - Button, Alonso, Rosberg, Vettel and now Maldonado.  Try predicting the next race!

Saturday, 12 May 2012

Hamilton Takes Pole

Lewis Hamilton described his pole position winning lap as one of his best ever at Barcelona circuit today.

While his team mate Jenson Button struggled setting up a car with alternate understeer and oversteer, Hamilton seized the moment to lead the grid in front of Pastor Maldonado and Fernando Alonso.

Alonso felt he had 'overachieved' and reached the absolute maximum of the car.  His team mate Massa could not reach the top ten.

The two Lotus Renaults of Grosjean and Raikkonen were fourth and fifth ahead of Sergio Perez.

Then came the German trio of  Rosberg, Vettel and Schumacher with Kobayashi completing the top ten.

This marked the 150th McLaren pole position.